Organisation & Management

The British Hydrological Society is managed on behalf of its members by a Main Committee, consisting of elected Honorary Officers (President, Treasurer and Secretary), seven elected Ordinary Members plus representatives of Regional Groups and affiliated organisations. One committee member specifically represents younger members.

Download the Society's statutes here.

The Society is mainly administered by a secretary, Moira Doherty, at the Institution of Civil Engineers, London SW1P 2AA.

Celia Kirby is the Society's Technical Secretary, supporting the committee in such work as coordinating consultation responses, editing the newsletter Circulation and the website, together with John Griffin.

Sub-Committees operate under the auspices of the Main Committee:  

  • Executive Sub-Committee
  • Exeter Fund Management Committee 
  • Associate Committee: the UK Committee for the IAHS (International Association of Hydrological Sciences). Membership of this committee is listed here.

Note: We are currently asking Members of the Society to submit nominations for the position of Hon Treasurer (one position) and Ordinary Committee member (two positions).  Please download the Call for Nomination for Election to the Main Committee Letter and Form.  Deadline is 28th June 2019.