Who's Who

Secretary to the Main Committee (main contact for the Society)

Moira Doherty

Institution of Civil Engineers / Thomas Telford Ltd

1 Great George Street, London, SW1P 3AA

Tel. 0207 765 2244 Email: bhs@ice.org.uk


Technical Secretary to the Main Committee (part-time)

Dr Celia Kirby

Three Stones, Kingswood Road, Kington, HR5 3HE

Tel. 01544 230053  Email: celia.kirby@btinternet.com


Elected Officers


Dr. Nick Chappell

Lancaster Environment Centre, Lancaster University, Lancaster LA1 4YQ

Tel. 01524 593933  Email: president-bhs@lancaster.ac.uk


Hon. Secretary:

Michael Cranston

RAB Consultants Ltd., Unit 10, Beta Centre, Stirling University, Innovation Park, Stirling FK9 4NH

Tel. 01786 611022    Email: michael.cranston@sepa.org.uk


Hon. Treasurer:

Dr Scott McGrane

Department of Economics, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, G4 0QU

Tel: 07872143582     Email:  bhs-treasurer@outlook.com 


Past President:

Peter Ede 

Mott MacDonald Group

22 Station Road, Cambridge  CB1 2JD 

Tel. 01223 463690    Email: peter.ede@mottmac.com


Elected Ordinary Committee Members

Anita M. Asadullah

Environment Agency, Horizon House, Deanery Road, Bristol BS1 5AH

Tel: 07810 057266

Email: Anita.Asadullah@environment-agency.gov.uk


Lucy Barker

UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

Maclean Building, Benson Lane, Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford OX10 8BB

Tel:  01491 692665   Email:  lucybar@ceh.ac.uk 


Mason Durant

HR Wallingford, Kestrel House, Howbery Park, Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford, OX10 8BA

Tel. no: 01491 822354     Email: m.durant@hrwallingford.com


Matt James


Buckingham Court, Kingsmead Business Park, London Road, High Wycombe HP11 1VU

Email: matt.james@stantec.com


Elizabeth Lewis

Cassie Building, 3.06, School of Engineering, Newcastle University, Newcastle Upon Tyne NE7 1RU

Tel: +44 (0) 191 2087544     Email: elizabeth.lewis2@ncl.ac.uk


Michael Pollock

Arup, Central Square Forth Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne NE7 3PL

7 Jupiter Court, Orion Business Park, North Shields NE29 7SE   

Tel:  0191 2626080    Email: <Michael.Pollock@arup.com


Michael Vaughan

Environment Agency, Guildbourne House, Worthing, West Sussex, BN11 1LD

Tel: 02030257191     Email: michael.vaughan@environment-agency.gov.uk



Regional Representatives

Midlands Section

Emma Neachell

Environment Agency

Sapphire East, 550 Streetsbrook Road, Solihull, West Midlands, B91 1QT

Tel. 07884735972 Email: emma.neachell@environment-agency.gov.uk


South East Section

Beth Waring


Epsom, Surrey

Tel. 01372 756274 Email: Beth.Waring@atkinsglobal.com


South West Section

Peter Dempsey

Met Office

Weather Analytics, FitzRoy Rd, Exeter, Devon EX1 3PB

Tel. 01392 884254 Email: Peter.Dempsey@metoffice.gov.uk   


Pennines Hydrological Group

Rob Burton

Coal Authority, Mansfield

Tel. 07500 782670  Email: 



Scottish Hydrological Group

Dr Mark Wilkinson

James Hutton Institute, Aberdeen AB39 2FZ

Tel. 01224 395158  Email: Mark.Wilkinson@hutton.ac.uk 


Other Committee Members

CEH representative

Dr David Boorman

UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

Maclean Building, Benson Lane, Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford OX10 8BB

Tel. 01491 838800   Fax. 01491 692424   Email: dbb@ceh.ac.uk  


ICE Water Expert Panel

Neill Brauders

Mott MacDonald, 22 Station Road, Cambridge  CB1 2JD 

Tel. 01223 465023 Email: Neill.brauders@mottmac.com    


CIWEM representative

Adam Comerford

Canal & River Trust

The White House, Canal Lane, Hatton, Warwick CV35 7JL

Tel. 01926 626142  Email: adam.comerford@canalrivertrust.org.uk  


UK Committee for IAHS

Prof. Kate Heal

University of Edinburgh

School of Geosciences, Crew Building, Brown Road, Edinburgh EH9 3FF

Tel. 0131 650 5420  Email: k.heal@ed.ac.uk  




Celia Kirby

Tel: 01544 230053    Email: celia.kirby@btinternet.com